Preview: Interview With Holly Van Voast

“I’m not an activist, I don’t wanna be. And I don’t think I have to be. I’m more like what I would consider a very smart artist or writer who saw something, went and did something creative.” – Holly Van Voast

Source: Flash News

Holly Van Voast as Harvey Van Toast The Topless Paparazzo. Source: Flash News

2 years ago, Holly Van Voast wanted to do something original. She wanted to bring awareness to the vibrant performing arts scene in New York City. So she created Harvey Van Toast, the Topless Paparazzo. That’s right – Holly went around New York City topless, but it came at a price. Believe it or not, it is legal for women to go topless in New York. But not everyone knows that, including the police. Holly has been arrested 10 times, and even sent to a mental hospital once. Holly was shocked: “I thought officers would leave me alone when I started because I thought they knew it was legal.” In order to preserve her right as a woman and as an artist, she sued the NYPD.

Recently, I had the pleasure of sitting down with Holly Van Voast herself and hear about her experiences. And soon, I’ll be able to share her story with you. For more information, check out the trailer for Holly’s documentary, Topless Shock Syndrome:

One thought on “Preview: Interview With Holly Van Voast

Leave a Reply

