CollegeHumor Tackles Nipple Inequality Head On

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. It wasn’t an active choice or anything (I promise I was not on sabbatical) – things just got super busy. My hands got a little full, if you will. But it’s time. This Jug Reporter needs to return, and I know just the way to do it.

CollegeHumor is known for its biting satire. It was Buzzfeed before there was Buzzfeed. In other words, the site is perfect for that “quick” but necessary study break. I just didn’t know how perfect it would be this week. Be warned – there is some slight nudity so if you’re worried, make sure you’re in the back of the library.

CollegeHumor: Why Are My Nipples Pixelated?

For those of you without headphones who don’t want to watch, here’s the main gist: TV censoring has officially crossed over into everyday life. Pretty much, this poor woman’s boobs will forever be pixelated – at least until our society gets its act together and recognizes equal topless rights.

As the #FreeTheNipple campaign and other protests have shown, our world still seems to have an issue with the female breast. Even in places where women are legally allowed to go topless, there is endless conflict. According to the Jug Talk with the infamous street performer Holly Van Voast, or Harvey Van Toast, women can still be arrested in New York when practicing their rights to go topless.

For whatever reason, we sexualize breasts so much that we have somehow turned them into primary sex organs (which they’re not). Even this video compares boobs to penises – notice that men’s nipples are not pixelated. The fact that this is still an issue is ridiculous. When I started this blog, I did not set out to talk about topless issues. That’s just where we are now, and have been for quite some time.

This video may be satire, but it’s making a very important point – we bring home what society puts out there. And our bodies internalize it, too.

One thought on “CollegeHumor Tackles Nipple Inequality Head On

  1. Free the nipple!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    Ban topless models on page 3 of The Sun – its sexually degrading to women!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    Hello, my eyes are up here – stop staring at my breasts you perv!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    I had breast implants to make me feel more sexually attractive!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    Hey get you hands off my breasts you disgusting pervert!!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    Yeah, I totally called the cops and had him arrested for sexual assault!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    OMG is that cake? Can I have it AND eat it at the same time?

    If you are a tumblr feminist / SJW then yes you can! :)

    Hurray!!!!

    …… but only if you take your top off!

    No way!!! I only let my sexual partner see or touch my breasts!!!

    Women’s breasts are not sexual!!!

    And so on……

Leave a Reply

